Learn more about our urology services below.

The Urology Surgical Unit is split between the campuses at Casey Hospital in Berwick and Moorabbin Hospital. It consists of 15 Consultants, 1 honorary Consultant, 3 accredited registrars in training, 2 unaccredited registrars, an overseas Fellow trainee, 4 residents, 7 Urology specialist nurses and one secretary at each site. The unit is lead overall by the Director of Urology who is the Clinical Head of Moorabbin and Casey sites, with a Deputy Director organising the daily logistics at all sites.

Approximately 5,000 patients are seen through the Outpatient departments at both sites annually with dedicated Bladder Cancer clinics, Uro-oncology clinics including Prostate Cancer, Kidney Stone clinic and nurse-led Prostate Cancer Survivorship Clinic. Consultative advice is provided for both emergency cases and referrals to all network hospitals.

The unit deals with a high volume of complex Uro-oncology and kidney stone disease, as well as most other areas of Urological surgery. Cancer services are now based at both sites with Moorabbin Hospital associated with the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Casey Hospital associated with Radiation Oncology Victoria on Kangan Drive, Berwick. Casey Hospital is also the site of the only ambulatory extracorporeal lithotripsy service in Victoria.

There is also an extensive academic program including national and international trials and local research in bladder cancer, kidney stones and prostate cancer. We are developing one of the most extensive bladder cancer databases in Australia and run many randomised trials on stone disease. We have recently developed Monash Management Pathways for Renal Tumours and Prostate Cancer and Australia’s first Prostate Cancer Survivorship Clinic run by our prostate cancer nurses.

Surgical services include:

  • Uro-oncology including all types of male and female urological cancer
  • Full range of endourology including laparoscopic surgery and laser treatment of stones and prostate disease
  • Urinary incontinence and reconstruction, including a full urodynamic service
  • Management of all types of kidney stones, including anaesthetic free shock wave lithotripsy
  • Prostate problems, both benign and cancerous
  • State of the art, nurse-led bladder cancer surveillance program

Urology Team


Director of Urology: Mr Scott Donnellan

Deputy Director of Urology: Mr Matthew Harper

Visiting Urology Consultants

Mr Gideon Blecher
Mr Kevin Chu
Mr Tony De Sousa
Mr James Huang
Mr John Kourambas
Ms Madalena Liu
A/Prof Philip McCahy
Mr Paul Manohar
Mr David Pan
Mr Trung Pham

Mr Niero Rajarubendra
Mr Nicholas Redgrave
Mr Shekib Shahbaz

Honorary Urologists

Prof. Mark Frydenberg

Specialist Nurses

Janice Downie
Sarah Ransley
Carolyn Jackson
Jincy Kuriakose
Ying Lu

Anju Rajimon

Nurse Endoscopists

Janice Downie

Sarah Ransley

Jincy Kuriakose

Prostate Cancer Nurses

Cathryn Nott

Ying Lu

Kate Slade

Moorabbin Secretary/ Personal Assistant to Mr Donnellan: Pauline Dimopoulos
Phone: 9928 8643
Fax: 9928 8361

Casey Secretary/Co-ordinator of Lithotripsy: Annette Swaby
Phone: 87681490
Fax: 87681951

Elective Surgery Coordinators:
Elective Surgical Co-ordinator Moorabbin campus – Kamal Segran
Phone: 1800 786 188

Elective Surgical Co-ordinator Casey campus – Lara McCluskie
Phone: 1800 786 188

Further Information: