Ear, Nose and Throat /Head & Neck Surgery

The Monash Health Ear, Nose and Throat (ENT) Department is unique in that it is the only major health service in Victoria treating both children and adults for diseases of the ear, nose and throat.

The department specialises treatment for patients from early infancy and covers the whole range of diseases of the ear, nose and throat.  A major component of the ENT service delivery is to paediatric patients. One of the main subspecialties within the ENT department is the care of patients who develop cancers of the Head and Neck.

The Head & Neck Cancer Services at Monash Health is an extensive collaboration between the ENT unit and other specialties including Plastic Surgery, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Dental Surgery, Audiology and Peter McCallum Cancer Institute.

The ENT department of Monash Health has a very large patient base, almost one third of the population of Victoria. Approximately 8,400 patients are seen through the outpatient services and in excess of 3000 operations are performed across 4 sites of the network.

Adult services are looked after at Monash Medical Centre, Moorabbin, Dandenong and Casey and paediatric patients are cared for at Monash Medical Centre, Clayton and Casey Hospital. Apart from caring for patients with ear, nose and throat/ Head and Neck conditions, the unit is actively involved in medical student, doctor and trainee surgeon education and research. Surgical Services include:

  • Head & Neck Cancer Surgery
  • Base of skull surgery
  • Audiology and ear surgery
  • Paediatric ENT surgery
  • Voice abnormality management
  • Swallowing Management

Appointment enquires Outpatient clinics

 Head and Neck Cancer Services and Multidisciplinary Team Meeting

The H&N clinic operates on a Thursday afternoon and Friday morning at Monash Cancer Centre, Moorabbin Campus. The Multidisciplinary team meeting and clinic on a Thursday is attended by ENT, plastics and oral surgery specialist, chemo/radiation oncologists, speech therapists and other allied health professionals.

Expertise is available to manage a full range of conditions including:

    • Upper aerodigestive tract tumours
    • Skull base tumours
    • Tumours and disorder of the Head & Neck
    • Salivary gland tumours
    • Thyroid and parathyroid tumours
    • Cerebropontive angle lesion (acoustic neuromas)
    • Tumours and disorders of the jaws
    • Parapharyngeal tumours
    • Tumours diseases of the vocal cords

The clinic provides a full range of services to patients with Head & Neck tumours including:

– Diagnostic Services
– ENT, Maxillofacial, plastics and reconstructive surgery
– Radiotherapy and chemotherapy through the Peter MacCallum services at Moorabbin Campus of East Melbourne
– Speech and swallowing assessment and rehabilitation
– Dietetic services
– Social services
– Specialist nursing services
– Palliative Care through Southern Health palliative care services

Otorhinolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery Director:  Mr Adnan Safdar

Personal Assistant: Ann Diprose
Phone:  9928 8799
Fax:  9928 8054
email: Anne.Diprose@monashhealth.org

Head & Neck Nurse Consultant: Kylie Whitelaw
Phone: 9928 8711
Fax: 9928 8052
email: HeadAndNeckCNC@monashhealth.org

Clinical Research Director: Dr Debbie Phyland
Phone 9928 8277
email: Debra.Phyland@monashhealth.org

Data Manager: Ineke Lazcano
Phone 9928 8097
email: Ineke.Lazcano@monashhealth.org

Consultant Surgeons

Mr Glen Burgess

Mr Markus Dahm

Mr Michael Gordon

Mr Andrew Hays

Mr Wayne Hon

Mr Guillermo Hurtado

Mr Eduard Pudel

Ms Elizabeth Sigston

Mr Brent Uren

Mr Charles Giddings

Mr Paul Paddle

Ms Joanne Rimmer

Mr Ryan de Freitas

Mr Phil Jumeau

Ms Sarah Morrison

Mr Dan Gordon

Ms Bing Teh


Get the latest information about coronavirus (COVID-19).Find out more