Learn more about our history below.

In 1987 Queen Victoria Memorial Hospital joined Prince Henry’s Hospital and Moorabbin Hospital to form Monash Medical Centre. The Southern Health Care Network (later Southern Health, now Monash Health) was formed by the addition of Dandenong Hospital in 1995. The Microbiology Laboratory was initially based at Prince Henry’s Hospital, relocating to the new Clayton campus in 1987.

In 1986 John Turnidge was appointed as the foundation Director of the Department of Infectious Diseases & Microbiology at Monash Medical Centre. John introduced the concept of an Infectious Diseases consultation service, including Intensive Care and Neonatal Intensive Care.  Under John’s leadership, the department developed an international reputation with expertise in pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics and antimicrobial susceptibility testing. Wendy Munckhof completed a PhD under John’s supervision. Many important projects were coordinated by the indefatigable Jan Bell, including the National Antimicrobial Resistance Surveillance Program. In 1996 John Turnidge returned to Adelaide as Director, Microbiology and Infectious Diseases, at the Women’s and Children’s Hospital, and is now Head, Microbiology, SA Pathology.

In 1991 Lindsay Grayson was appointed as Infectious Diseases physician, then Deputy Director, and Director of the Department of Infectious Diseases & Clinical Epidemiology in 1996 after the departure of John Turnidge. Lindsay further developed the Monash Infectious Diseases clinical service, pioneered outpatient parenteral antimicrobial therapy via a Hospital In the Home program and promoted clinical research. In 1996 Paul Johnson was appointed as Infectious Diseases physician and later Deputy Director. Important research areas included VRE and mycobacterial infections.  Alex Padiglione and Rhonda Stuart completed PhDs. In 2001 Lindsay Grayson and Paul Johnson moved to the Department of Infectious Diseases, Austin Hospital, along with Libby Grabsch, who made a great contribution as our inaugural Senior Scientist.

In 2000 Tony Korman was appointed as full-time Infectious Diseases physician, and in 2002 was appointed as Director. Ian Woolley was appointed as an Infectious Diseases physician in 2002 and later Deputy Director.  Kumar Visvanathan joined in 2002 and Rhonda Stuart returned in 2005.

Monash Infectious Diseases Registrars & Fellows

We are proud of the Infectious Diseases Registrars and Fellows who have undertaken their advanced training at Monash Infectious Diseases, and now are Infectious Diseases physicians in prominent roles in Australia and in the USA.


COVID-19 vaccination bookings now open -Find out more