Transition to specialty practice

Monash Health offers a unique Transition to Speciality Practice (TSP) programs specifically designed to give Registered Nurses, who have completed a graduate year, a structured introduction to specialist practice.

Specialty programs are offered in the following areas:

The programs consist of structured learning, clinical support and paid study days. Participants are employed at a designated hospital however study days are shared and rotated across sites

Our university partners include:

  • Deakin University
  • Latrobe University
  • Monash University
  • Australian Catholic University
  • RMIT

Programs are conducted at Monash Medical Centre, Moorabbin, Dandenong and Casey Hospital.

“I am more confident that I have up-to-date, sound knowledge base when presenting my concerns to medical staff. I have the knowledge to accurately assess my patients and to clearly identify the deteriorating patient. It has given me a deeper understanding of disease states and the meaning of signs and symptoms and the importance and relevance of evidence based management.”
– Anonymous participant who completed the Acute Medical / Surgical TSP 2011.