The Urology Surgical Unit is split between the campuses at Casey Hospital in Berwick and Moorabbin Hospital. It consists of 15 Consultants, 2 honorary Consultants, 4 accredited registrars in training, an overseas Fellow trainee, 4 residents, 7 Urology specialist nurses and one secretary at each site. The unit is lead overall by the Director of Urology who is the Clinical Head of Moorabbin and Casey sites, with a Deputy Director organising the daily logistics at all sites.

Approximately 5,000 patients are seen through the Outpatient departments at both sites annually with dedicated stone, prostate cancer assessment and nurse-led lower urinary tract symptom clinics. Consultative advice is provided for both emergency cases and referrals to all network hospitals.

The unit deals with a high volume of complex Uro-oncology and kidney stone disease, as well as most other areas of Urological surgery. Cancer services are now based at both sites with Moorabbin Hospital associated with the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Casey Hospital associated with Radiation Oncology Victoria on Kangan Drive, Berwick. Casey Hospital is also the site of only the second extracorporeal lithotripsy service in Victoria. It is the major site for paediatric stone treatment in the State with close teamwork involving the paediatric urology, diagnostic imaging and urology units.

There is also extensive academic collaboration with The Department of Surgery, as well as the Department of Anatomy and Developmental Biology at Monash University. The Moorabbin Unit is a leading collaborator in the CAPTIV program, furthering translational research in prostate cancer in Victoria and nationally. The Casey Unit is developing clinical research in management of stone disease.

Surgical services include:

  • Uro-oncology including all types of male and female urological cancer
  • Full range of endourology including laparoscopic surgery and laser treatment of stones and prostate disease
  • Urinary incontinence and reconstruction, including a full urodynamic service
  • Management of all types of kidney stones, including anaesthetic free shock wave lithotripsy
  • Prostate problems, both benign and cancerous
  • State of the art, nurse-led bladder cancer surveillance program


Director of Urology: Mr Scott DonnellanUrologyDeputy Director of Urology:Mr Matthew Harper

Visiting Urology Consultants:

A/Prof Sree Appu
Mr Kevin Chu
Mr David Dangerfield
Mr Tony De Sousa
Mr James Huang
Mr John Kourambas
Ms Madalena Liu
Mr Philip McCahy
Mr Paul Manohar
Mr David Pan
Mr Trung Pham
Mr Nicholas Redgrave
Mr Shekib Shahbaz

Honorary Urologists:

Prof. Mark Frydenberg
Mr Christopher Love

Specialist Nurses:

Janice Downie
Sarah Ransley
Carolyn Jackson
Jincy Kuriakose
Kellie Matthews

Moorabbin Secretary/ Personal Assistant to Mr Donnellan: Pauline Dimopoulos
Phone: 9928 8643
Fax: 9928 8361

Casey Secretary/Co-ordinator of Lithotripsy: Annette Swaby
Phone: 87681490
Fax: 87681951

Elective Surgery Coordinators:
Elective Surgical Co-ordinator Moorabbin campus – Kamal Segran
Phone: 1800 786 188

Elective Surgical Co-ordinator Casey campus – Lara McCluskie
Phone: 1800 786 188

Further Information:


Online Casey Lithotripter Referral Form Click Here

Document downloads

Printed Casey Lithotripter Referral Form Click Here