Nephrology Department wins big at ANZSN Annual Scientific Meeting

The Nephrology Department has won three awards at the 57th Australian & New Zealand Society of Nephrology (ANZSN) Annual Scientific Meeting in Christchurch, New Zealand. 

Ben Lazarus, a PhD student under Adjunct Professor Kevan Polkinghorne, won the Young Investigator Award in Clinical Science, while Kate Robson, a PhD student under Professor Richard Kitching, won the Young Investigator Award in Basic Science. 

Meanwhile, highlighting the calibre of our close partners and collaborators, Monash University’s Dr Kim O’Sullivan won the Best Mid-Career Basic Science Award. Dr O’Sullivan is the Laboratory Head of the Translational Kidney Therapies Group within the Centre for Inflammatory Diseases at the Monash Health Translational Precinct. She is also a past winner of the Young Investigator Award in Basic Science. 

ANZSN is a not-for-profit organisation representing the interests of over 1,000 health professionals committed to preventing and treating kidney disease. Its awards recognise and honour the outstanding contributions and achievements of the society’s members across career stages, the domains of basic science and clinical science, and within craft groups.  

It is an honour to have such research and academic talent here doing great work that will ultimately push the frontiers of healthcare to benefit our patients and our community. 

Congratulations again to the award winners! 

Kate Robson, Kim O'Sullivan and Ben Lazarus smiling at the camera while holding their award certificates.