Congratulations to NHMRC grant recipients

A number of researchers from Monash Health, Monash University’s School of Clinical Sciences at Monash Health and the Hudson Institute of Medical Research have excitingly been awarded National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) grants for their innovative research projects that will help transform healthcare worldwide.

Congratulations to:

Dr Connie Wong, for ‘Targeting the brain-gut axis to improve stroke outcome’

Professor Guiying Nie, for ‘The central role of accelerated trophoblast syncytialization and aging in preeclampsia’

Dr Jun Yang, for ‘Screening for Primary Aldosteronism: Outcomes, Economics and Biomarkers’

Dr Kate Lawlor, for ‘Role of A1 in repressing mitochondrial apoptosis to limit pathogen clearance’

Professor Kate Loveland, for ‘Developmental Events Affecting Male Fertility and Reproductive Pathologies’

Dr Kelly Crossley, for ‘Reducing the risk of pulmonary hypertension in infants with a congenital diaphragmatic hernia’

Dr Kirsten Palmer, for ‘PROTECT Me: Assessing Antenatal Maternal Melatonin Supplementation in Fetal Growth Restriction to Improve Neurodevelopmental Outcomes’

Professor Mark Hedger, for ‘Treating Inflammation in the Male Reproductive Tract’

Dr Michelle Tate, for ‘Finding the balance – Reducing inflammation during severe influenza infections’

Professor Michael Hickey, for ‘Control of Proinflammatory Endothelial Cell function by Regulatory T cells’

Professor Paul Hertzog, for ‘Innate Musocal Sensing & Shaping of the Human Microbiome’

Dr Sam Forster, for ‘Microbiome derived candidates to revolutionise treatment of inflammatory bowel disease’

Dr Shayanthi Mukherjee, for ‘Advancing Women’s Urogynecological Health using Micro/Nanotechnologies’

Professor Yahya Shehabi, for ‘Sedation Practice in Intensive Care Evaluation in Older ventilated Critically Ill patients; Early Sedation with Dexmedetomidine in Older Ventilated Critically Ill Patients. A Randomised Double Blind Placebo Controlled Trial – SPICE IV’

Book your COVID-19 vaccination -Find out more