Appointments to the Monash Health Board

We’re delighted to announce the appointment of three new Monash Health Board Members: Robyn McLeod, Tony Brain and Helen Brunt.

Our new Board Members bring with them exceptional experience, knowledge and leadership.  A biography of each new Board Member is provided below.

Each year we review sub-committee membership and, along with the new members, there have been a number of changes made to ensure we provide the best possible governance and succession planning.


Membership of the Board sub-committees is as follows:

Board Audit Committee: Jane Bell (Chair); Tony Brain; Robyn McLeod

Board Finance Committee: Charles Gillies (Chair); Tony Brain; Helen Brunt; Dipak Sanghvi

Board Quality Committee: Hatem Salem (Chair); Aurélia Balpe; Misty Jenkins

Aboriginal Health Strategic Partnership Committee: Dipak Sanghvi (Chair); Misty Jenkins

Community Advisory Committee: Aurélia Balpe; Robyn McLeod

Primary Care & Population Health Advisory Committee: Aurélia Balpe (Chair); Robyn McLeod


Incoming Board Member Biographies: 

Ms Robyn McLeod

Ms McLeod is a governance and public policy expert who currently serves on the Boards of Melbourne Water and VicWater, and previously served as a member of the Governance working group of the Board of Good Shepherd Australia and New Zealand. Robyn’s previous positions include director of the Australian Centre for Social Innovation, Independent Commissioner for Water Security in South Australia, National Director of Water for KPMG, Executive Director of Major Projects Water with the Department of Sustainability and Environment, Victoria and Chief of Staff to the Victorian Energy Resources and Ports Minister.

Ms Helen Brunt
BA (Hons), GAICD

Ms Brunt is a senior governance and technology delivery executive who brings extensive experience in digital technology and large scale transformation in complex business environments including Wesfarmers and Westpac. She is skilled in developing strategies to leverage technology to support business strategy. Helen is passionate about diversity and the use of technology to transform customer and staff experience and previously served as an associate board member for the VIC ICT for Women in IT. Helen is currently an elected Member Director of the Wesfarmers Super Trust Policy Committee.

Mr Tony Brain

Mr Brain is a Chartered Accountant with over 30 years’ experience in governance, assurance, finance and regulatory oversight. Tony’s executive leadership experience includes 12 years as Partner at Deloitte and nearly three years as Head of Risk Management at AustralianSuper. In addition to Monash Health, Tony’s current Non-Executive Director experience includes three years at the Australian Scholarships Group Friendly Society Pty Ltd and nearly one year at AMP Superannuation Limited where he is currently in the role as Interim Chair. Tony also sits on various Board Committees for Victoria University, Barwon Health, Magistrates Court Victoria and the Alannah and Madeline Foundation. Tony is also a current member of the Companies Auditor Disciplinary Board.


We would like to acknowledge the valuable contribution made by our outgoing Board Members Ms Sarah Ralph, Ms Jorden Lam and Ms Heather Cleland, and thank them for their time, commitment and critical insight.

We wish them all continued success and thank them for their service to Monash Health.