Pictured: (L-R) Monash Health Chief Executive Andrew Stripp, Associate Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton, Monash Health Board Chair Barbara Yeoh AM 

Tuesday 13 March 2018

Associate Professor Diana Egerton-Warburton has been inducted into the 2018 Victorian Honour Roll of Women.

Currently the Director of Emergency Research and Innovation at Monash Health, Diana has worked for almost three decades in Victorian emergency departments. She has trained and mentored a new generation of emergency medicine specialists and is passionate about developing women in leadership roles. She is an Associate Professor with the School of Clinical Sciences at Monash University and the National Drug Research Institute at Curtin University. She has also advised the Victorian and Commonwealth governments on alcohol and drug policy.

Diana’s research has always focussed on patient needs, with a particular interest in reducing alcohol harm. She is Chair of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine’s Public Health Committee and is leading the largest-ever study on alcohol harm in emergency departments internationally. In 2017 Diana was awarded the VicHealth Award for reducing the harmful effects of alcohol, and her research continues to contribute to a broader understanding of alcohol-related harm and its impact on healthcare workers.

Diana served as President of the Australasian Society for Emergency Medicine from 1997 to 2000, where she was an advocate for the non-specialist workforce and recognised for her teaching, training, research and public health achievements. In 2016, Diana was awarded the Australian Medical Association’s Women in Medicine Award for her ‘outstanding contribution to emergency medicine with a strong passion for public health’.

Her induction into the 2018 Victorian honour Roll of Women recognises Diana’s exceptional contribution to the development of emergency medicine, and her passion for public health.

Congratulations Diana.